Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

How to speed up rigging/de-rigging  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• Keep in mind I'm new to sailing, while I have learned how to properly rig, launch and sail my Cat I'm trying to figure out how to speed up the rigging process.

Is there some tricks to keeping the shroud wires, trapeze wires and headstay wire from tangling when taking it all down?

Lately I've just been disconnecting the rigging from the boat and the mast while keeping all the wires still connected to the hound shackle, and then rolling them up like you would a rope or garden hose. This works out ok, but when it comes to installing everything again it seems to turn in to a tangled mess and I have to untangle one wire at a time, causing the set up process to take about 1-1.5 hours every time. I've also tried to leave the jib halyard attached to hopefully save some set up time but seemed to just make it worse by adding more untangle time.

I would like to leave everything connected to the mast, but I do not feel comfortable leaving the hardware on the street with my boat, because of theft(I live in the valley of central California) and just being out in the weather.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated. I've tried to search for any information on this but haven't found any.

--
    1984 AMF Trac 16, First year of sailing, Central California
    --
  • If you have to take your shrouds off everytime due to concern over theft, not sure if there is a lot you can do to speed up rigging. I always left my side shrouds attached on my H16 and then would coil the front shroud up with one of the sides. Bungy them down to the tramp and off we went. I would also leave the rudders on, just make sure they are secured. with 2 people you should be able to rig a 16' boat in 30 minutes or less if you work at it and are organized.