Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

New but cool - looking for suggestions on our first cat.  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• Ok so I am brand new to sailing. Hubbie and I have taken lessons on a 31’ and 40’ keelboat. While buying one of those would be cool, we live inland and would like to start with a cool cat for nearby lakes and occasional gulf visits. We will save the big boats for charters once we get really cool. We are late 30s, motivated and fit. We would like to sale with our athletic 14 year old and 10 year old kids. We have the means but don’t want to overpay. What are suggestions for a good starter. Important factors are trailerability, setup time and fun. There is a Nacra 570 for sale nearby, but we worry about availability of parts. Also - can you put wings on one of those things. Wings seem like a must for comfort. Help and thanks - you guys all seem so cool - I’d love to share a beer with you and learn all you know.
    Cheers,
    Beachesbelike
  • If your only sailing is lessons on big boats, I would recommend you find someone with a cat and trade booze for rides (that always works). If you want to sail with 4, you'll need a bigger cat. The opposite side of that is they are fast and powerful and maybe not the right boat for a beginner.

Wings start to be an necessity when you get to my age. Late 30's they are a nice to have.

--
    dk

Blade F-16
    Hobie 14
    Corsair F-242
    Mirage 25 (Sold)
    Hobie Tiger (Sold)
    Hobie Tiger (Sold)
    TomCat 6.2 (Sold)
    --
  • Boomless Nacra are fun boats! Nsturally start on light wind days.

--
    John

Nacra 5.0
    CT
    --
  • It is very hard to beat a 570 for two fit people. They will a,so handle a fair bit of weight, but you will see performance drop on any Cat with four people, unless you get something like Hobie 21.
    We have two legacy Nacra, a 5.7 & a 5.0. I have never had problems with parts. Fair numbers of used parts, & places like Murray’s sells new.