Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

86' Hobie H-18 Advice  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• Hi all, I'm a newb here and have been lurking for a while learning from the forums while looking for my first Hobie.
    I found a local 86' H-18 that I am thinking of going to check out. I'm nervous though as I've read about mid eighties hulls having problems. Should I skip this boat and wait for an older or newer version? Other than the year the boat seems great. It has SX wings, good sails, Harken hardware, good trailer, beach wheels, etc. The seller also said the hulls have no soft spots. Just looking for advice on what to look for, or if should look for another year? Thanks in advance for any advice!
  • Also, the boat has the newer tiller/rudder system if that makes a difference.
  • check it out!

Check for soft spots.. press down hard with the heel of your hand:
    - just forward of the front crossbars
    - just forward of the rear crossbars
    - push, pull a bit on the rudder pins/gudgons to see if the strens are weak/damaged
    - get up under the boat and look for damages on the bottom from being on the trailer
    - PUSH on the hulls under the trampoline, both sides... kind of under the front crossbar area, towards under the tramp a bit.

Check if it has a stailless steel "D" looking reenforcement with 4 screws on the outside of the hulls where the front crossbar is.. and where the shrouds connect

Check that the mast is straight and the mast track isn't dented up.
    Check that the comptip isn't cracked.. look at the plastic comptip sail track that snaps on... and check the comptip closely where it sticks into the mast.. and up top around the halyard hook.

I think those would be the critical things to evaulate before going into "replacement" items (that you could replace) such as rigging, sails, lines, etc.

Good luck, let us know!