Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

How to properly use the traveler?  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• being a self taught sailor i never really learned some of the finer points of sailing, like how to properly use the traveler... Can someone explain to me what exactly it is for, when i should use it, and how to set it? I always just leave it all the way in and it seems to sail just fine. Thanks!

Also i never really learned how to properly read the tell tails on the sails... can someone give me a quick run down on how those as well?

--
    70's 18' Sol Cat "Venora"
    70's 18' Sol Cat "Bumblebee"
    60's 14' Sailstar Tallstar sloop "Arandora"

Heber City, UT
    --
  • Sorry i just realized maybe this post should go in the "Getting Started" section instead of "Technical Help"...

--

Heber City, UT
    --
  • It has a few functions:
    To depower the boat, and to help keep the boat from healing to much.
    To help with sailing direction, closer to centerline closer to the wind, further away farther down wind, jib should follow.
    Remember when you travel out to depower, sheet the mainsheet back in firmly to help keep the sail flat.
    I am sure others will add to this short list
  • Download the Hobie University

http://www.hobieclass.com…loads/hobieu/HobieU.pdf\

--
    Ron
    Nacra F18
    Reservoir Sailing Assn.
    Brandon, Mississippi
    --
  • Look at this image and noticewhere the sail is... as it moves through: close-hauled, close reach, and beam reach.. the sail is still pointing at the same angle to the wind (or very close) -
    http://www.marrder.com/htw/images/htw_7_15.jpg

For upwind:
    the traveler should basically be centered when sailing upwind/close hauled (unless you wish /need to de-power. In that case, crack it off a few inches to a foot)

Falling off:
    as you fall off (away from closed hauled) you want your sail to still be in the same position (relative to the wind...) so you travel out as you fall off