Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Advice on Sail Boat Purchase  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• 11/7/10

I (age 62 and in good health) want to purchase a boat that I can use with my wife (age 61 in good health) and another couple or my two grand kids ages 4 and 6. I have no experience at sailing (currently reading "Sailing for Dummies") and want to learn so as to share the experierce with my grand children. I am an Avid Power Boat Person (up to 24' outboard). I plan to use the boat on the back side of Ocracoke Island, North Carolina where we reside. Use would be in a salt water environment in "shoaly water", say 1' to 20' (channels and shoaly water). The boat would be moored in Silver Lake Harbor (on the shore) or the back side of our Island (on the shore of the Pamlico Sound)?

Reccomendations are appreciated as well as "a source for the purchase of a used boat"?
  • HI Edward, welcome to sailing and welcome to thebeachcats.com, your source for all sailing questions.

It is my experience that people are in 'love' with the idea of sailing, for many different reasons, perhaps it is the sense of freedom that sailing promotes, I don't know. I can tell you this, there are 2 types of sailing, leisurely sailing and extreme sailing. you have to decide which one suits you. Leisurely sailing entails walking down to the dock with an icebox full of goodies, hopping aboard your monohull with the family, starting the motor up, putter out into the deep water, and raising sail for a nice leisurely day of cruising around the bay. Extreme sailing entails all sorts of safety gear, hauling your catamaran down to the water, setting up, checking wind direction, wind speed, sailing out to deep water and screaming across the bay as fast as you can go.