Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Installing Rivets  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• Newbie here....

I would like to install a couple more cleats on the bottom area of my mast...and some other stuff needs to be done.

From what I understand, I would need to be using SS rivets for the high strength stuff and aluminum may be ok for some of the lesser stressed items.

Q: Can I use one of those hand held rivet tools...that looks like you can use with one or maybe two hands...or do I need to buy an air powered model.

Any other hints in the rivet dept. would be gladly accepted. Thanks!
  • The hand rivot tool will work just fine. I keep one in my sail gear bag.

--
    Philip
    --
  • A hand rivet tool does work, but I find I need extra leverage to get the stainless rivets to pop. Usually I get a friend to help me pull the handles together, or in a pinch I slip a couple of lengths of pipe (usually the handles from an old fishing net) on the handles to get the extra leverage. It takes quite a bit of force to pop the stainless rivets.

Also don't forget to seal them with marine sealant or marine tex. Not terribly critical at the bottom of the mast but it's good to keep it as water tight as possible.

D.

--
    Dave Bonin
    1981 Nacra 5.2 "Lucile"
    1986 Nacra 5.7 "Belle"
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    --
  • The sealant will also help isolate the dissimilar metals slowing down the galvanic corrosion.

I have no problem popping the SS rivots. Eat your Wheaties! icon_smile

--
    Philip
    --
  • I thought I remember seeing (I think on here) where they have the electric rivit guns at 'Harbor Freight' When I used mine handheld rivit tool, don't release your handle all the way~~ just part way so you do a little at a time, that way there ya won't have to fight and cuss & use all kinds of harsh words.....and Philip is right, eat yer Wheaties~~'2 bowls' icon_eek

--
    ~ Vietnam Vet 69-71~ 17 Hobie w/big jib, ~18 Hobie mag,~DN Ice sailor,