Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Sol Cat 18 Tiller Linkage at the cross arm  Bottom

• I am new to catamaran sailing and need some help. Please bear with me on the terminology.

At the connection point of the tiller arm and the cross arm I am missing the insert pieces. The way it is jimmy rigged right now it is scaring the tubing and binds not giving the tiller full range of motion.

Where can I find these and what are they called.

Thanks for your help icon_biggrin
  • YacoltI am new to catamaran sailing and need some help. Please bear with me on the terminology.

At the connection point of the tiller arm and the cross arm I am missing the insert pieces. The way it is jimmy rigged right now it is scaring the tubing and binds not giving the tiller full range of motion.

When I got my Sol Cat, both the the tiller crossbar and both tillers were scarred at the connection point. The previous owner had connected the crossbar upsidedown. Once I turned the crossbar so that the flats on the crossbar inserts were facing up, everything was fine. I don't have special inserts or ends for the tiller arms, but I don't seem to need them.

Post a pic, so we can see exactly what's going on.

Here's a pic of the wrong way to do things:
    http://picasaweb.google.c…hoto#5148708049778351410

Here's the right way:
    http://picasaweb.google.c…hoto#5148708049778351426

I don't even use the spacers in that photo anymore. Don't need 'em.
  • Great pictures, will be a big help to Sol Cat owners. Would you mind putting these and any other Sol Cat technical pictures you have in a "Sol Cat Tips" album in the Technical Help Gallery?

Pictures of your boat and it's rigging would be great for the Sol Cat album in the "Beachcats Identification" section.

Thanks,

--
    Damon Linkous
    1992 Hobie 18
    Memphis, TN

How To Create Your Signature

How To Create Your Own Cool Avatar

How To Display Pictures In The Forums.
    --
  • Dan