Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Should I get a 1983 SuperCat 17  Bottom

• I have been thinking about purchasing a sailing catamaran. I have been sailing for about 4 years, and to be honest I have only ever sailed monohulls

I have been contemplating on purchasing a Supercat 17. I found one for sale for 1,650USD with trailer. Do you guys have any tips suggestions warnings?

Is it out of my league?
    Is the price fair?
    Do you have any tips, suggestions, advice?
    Anything helps. I am happy to answer additional questions.

Here is a link to the facebook post on which the boat is for sale on.
    https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/209040490840827/?referralSurface=messenger_lightspeed_banner&referralCode=messenger_banner

I am possibly also looking for someone in the area, that can help me take a look at it, as I don't know enough about them. I am willing to pay them.
    I am located In Central PA
    Seller in East Greenbush, NY
    Would be sailing with my brother

Edited by startingsalor on May 30, 2021 - 09:18 PM.
  • Notice the Hobie sails...Not going to be exactly same dimension as stock. Don't know anything about SC boats, except they're supposed to be decent to good boats, but wet rides.

--
    Chuck C.
    H21SE 408
    --
  • The Hobie sails are puzzling. The access ports in the transoms means the gudgeons have been refastened. Paint on the rudder cages is a bad idea. This one has some issues. Without real SC17 sails the price is too high. You'll put in at least the purchase amount in fixing her up. A true rocket once she's tuned up. A definite change from monohull sailing.
    There are SC17 parts and sails in the classifieds on the Beachcats classifieds.

http://owners.aquarius-sail.com/phpbb3/
    Read up at this site.
    I would go over this one with a really fine tooth comb. Request a bunch more pics.
    Feel free to shoot me a PM if you want to discuss this further.