Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Should I buy this Hobie 18?  Bottom

• About a month ago I jumped into sailing after cleaning up an old hobie 14. It's an old boat that's sat out for a few years and has definitely seen better days. I've had a blast with it and, better yet, found out that I really enjoy sailing. Honestly though I just don't know how long the boat's going to hold up. I've been looking around on craigslist and whatnot and almost jumped on a Nacra 5.2. Ended up getting sold on me, but now I've found what seems to me like a really great deal. It's an old Hobie 18, probably somewhere around 1978 or 1980. I asked the age and he wasn't sure. The manual was printed in 1978, so I'm guessing that's probably about right. He's asking $500 for both the boat and trailer (it needs lights and has a few bent pieces) or $400 for just the Hobie. I mean, I'm far from an expert but I'm kind of thinking that the parts alone are worth more. Not sure if it's too good to be true or something like that. Apparently it hasn't been in the water in quite a few years but has been stored inside. He says the hulls are solid and there's no missing parts (that I know of). Obviously I can't know for sure until I see it in person. What do you guys think? I've been sailing on a larger lake in northern Wisconsin. From what I've read the hobie 18 isn't the best for single handed sailing and honestly I'm a bit worried about righting. Figured I could sail in light conditions alone or go with a friend if I'm worried. Either way I don't know anyone who has a Hobie so I figured I'd make a post on here so I could get an outside opinion.

Pics

https://imgur.com/a/NcdOGda

Edited by sesaero on Jul 27, 2018 - 12:04 AM.
  • I haven't heard such a wishy washy post in a long time. Frankly I think you should stick to bowling. Pete
  • Just a newbie who wants know how much these usually cost and what to expect based on the pictures and info. Guess I did get ahead of myself haha