Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Hobie getaway hull crack  Bottom

• Hello all I’m just wondering if anyone has any experience with sealing or repairing a small hull crack near The crossbeam? I have a small 2-3” Long crack and want to seal it or completely. I have no experience with plastic hulls.
  • Probably a question best asked on the Hobie forum or sent directly to Matt Miller.

Some pictures would also be helpful.

The general consensus is that, since polyethylene is an inert material, there is really nothing that will permanently bond to it so repairing cracks in the hulls is difficult to impossible. I believe some folks have reported having marginally successful results using polyethylene welders or West Systems G-Flex epoxy.

Depending on the location of the crack, generally the best/strongest approach is to "splint" the cracked area back together using mechanical fasteners (screws/bolts/rivets) and a backing plate of some sort, preferrably on the inside of the hull. Seal the crack and the fasteners with silicone caulk or similar when installing the backing plate.

sm
  • I’ve seen a couple of YouTube videos of repairs done but I’m not sure how long they will last! The spot where the crack is is not load bearing so I’ll probably just try to cover it and keep an eye on it
  • I read a post from Matt on Hobie.com that the Wave is cross-linked polyethylene, and that it can't be welded... if you heat it enough to fuse it, it doesn't get gooey... it liquefies and runs. Messy. The upside of cross-linked PE is better impact resistance and surface shine.