Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Halyard and tackling cleats on a Nacra Inter 20  Bottom

Go to page [-1] 1 - 2:

• Fixed above MN3. The halyard turning block can wear as without a ball you are point loading it (and the sail/line) I use the smallest balls available from APS.

Halyard turning blocks are an interesting discussion. I've been using a Harken T2 40mm block for 2+ years now. Its the same weight as most all smaller blocks, has low friction, doesn't melt when I hoist at Mach 3, and has been reliable. I went this direction because I made a mistake and am running a heavy 8mm halyard but I can say with confidence this is my go to setup for a serious distance race or situation where it matters and the minor wind age and weight penalty are acceptable.

I've also had good luck with the Ronstan 30mm Nylatron Orbit blocks. They don't melt. The 16mm Harken Airblock is another good choice and is generally a bullet proof block.
  • QuoteFixed above MN3. The halyard turning block can wear as without a ball you are point loading it (and the sail/line)

Gotcha - that makes a lot of sense

I think i am using a standard Harken 22mm Single Block - I have burned one or 2 up in my day - I think they also make a high load version of it (or they used to at least)

i am over-due to replace this block as well as the dynema bail it rides on - this almost guarantees me a blow out this weekend - hope i remember to replace it

Edited by MN3 on Jun 01, 2017 - 03:45 PM.
  • One nice thing about the T2 blocks and similar are they don't chafe the dyneema bails for all intents and purposes. The halyard, block and bail I'm using have been on the boat since 2014. I may replace them but wear isn't the issue, its my OCD nature of keeping things new.
  • QuoteI may replace them but wear isn't the issue, its my OCD nature of keeping things new.

peace of mind knowing it shouldn't break during a race is a good thing!