Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

What cat is best for me?  Bottom

• I am a life long sailor, raised on catamarans and a live aboard trimaran when they weren't that common on the sailing scene. I have been sailing monohulls for the past 10 years, but really prefer multihull sailing and am now looking to purchase a beachcat. I'm pretty 'small' and 'over 50'. I really enjoy the spirit of the cat, but don't need the fastest boat on the beach anymore.

I'll be single handing within a club, in a large estuary most of the time, but would like the option to bring a passenger from time to time. Recently I've sailed a Wave and a 'GetAway'. They were both a blast, but perhaps a bit too easy. I admit, I did like the aspect of no boom, but its not a necessity. I want a boat that's not complicated but that I can feel good about sailing and racing from time to time.

My eyes are crossing over all the recommendations I am getting from well-meaning, cat sailing friends; too many choices. Appreciate any comments/suggestions.
  • Hmmm, well ya know what I would suggest. Wait for it.....
    Hobie 16!!!

--
    Marty
    1984 Hobie 16 Redline Yellow Nationals, "Yellow Fever"
    Opelika, Al / Lake Martin
    --
  • A snarky cat would be the way to go. Hobies are so...............done

icon_razz

--
    dg
    NACRA 5.2 #400
    This End Up
    Original owner since 1975
    --
  • I have to weigh in to keep the Supercat sailors thirst quenched here.
    I love the Supercat 15. Easily takes two when needed and easy to single hand.
    Doesn't pitch pole easily, no daggerboards and boom less
    Just sayin!

--
    Supercat 15
    Windrider 17
    Several Sunfish and Sunfish clones
    Ratboat built from Zuma and Sunfish parts
    Shallow water sailor in the Delaware Bay
    --
  • nacra 5.o or 5.7 neither have a boom or dagger boards and are great boats
    Newer versions are 500 or 570