Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

How did you mount your electric winch on your trailer?  Bottom

Go to page [-1] 1 - 2 - 3 [+1]:

• QuoteDoesn't the straight aft pull exert the most leverage on the base of the winch post?

i am not an engineer (nor trying to be argumentative) i would hypothesize the higher the winch is up the post changes the location of the effort / strain

I.E. ceteris paribus...

if you have a 6' post and place the winch (or block) at the very top the post will fail (bend) in the middle

if you have a 6' post and place the winch (or block) at the base of post the post will fail at the base (or attachment point)

assuming 3' is "straight aft"it will fail in the middle (1.5')

you stated that "heavy boats are pulled up the trailer via a winch on a post"... That's a floating boat... doesn't matter how much the boat weighs (to a point) if it is floating...

no one is pulling a powerboat up a beach or onto a trailer using a hand winch

Edited by MN3 on Oct 04, 2016 - 03:59 PM.
  • QuoteI like the idea of the harbor freight ATV winch. They sell two model numbers of the same unit,

I own a HF BadLands 2500 lb. ATV winch - it has the WORST duty cycle rate (5%) I have ever heard of and due to this , it works for about 45 seconds of use (pulling my 5.5 on a trailer in my yard (with a trailer dolly/wheels attached to the tongue) before going into thermal shutdown for 15 - 20 minutes

"This Winch with a 5% duty cycle at its
    maximum load must be allowed to rest for at least
    14 minutes, 15 seconds after every 45 seconds of
    continuous operation
    . Failure to carefully observe
    duty cycle limitations can easily over-stress a
    Winch contributing to premature Winch failure."

http://manuals.harborfrei…ls/61000-61999/61297.pdf (Page 12)

You may want to consider a different brand

Edited by MN3 on Oct 04, 2016 - 04:12 PM.