Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

What are the best cats for very long distance racing?  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 - 3 [+1]:

• Hi, I am preparing for a 900nm adventure race where there are no rules except the boat cannot be fitted with a motor. The first team to the line wins whether it is a rowing sled, kayak or sailboat. The race is mostly inter-coastal but will have some stretches of open ocean and although you are aloud to stop as much as you want or need, I would like to reduce the stops to a minimum. So, I reckon a beach cat would be very competitive! Although I have heaps of sailing and racing experience on ocean racing boats and skiffs, I have very little beach cat experience...

So here is my question; what are the best cats to look at purchasing?

Criteria
    - crew and gear weight of ~450lbs
    - Budget ~6k
    - must be efficient upwind
    - very good in light wind
    - main must be able to be modified for a reef
    - light enough to be rowed, possibly for days on end
    - handle open ocean conditions

Also, if anybody knows of boats for sale in the pacific NW or British Columbia let me know.

--
    Phil W
    Nacra 570
    Victoria BC
    www.mausails.com
    --
  • tumbolo there are no rules except the boat cannot be fitted with a motor.

Then it is AC72 icon_biggrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjERHJUTLh4

If you flexible on your criteria, that is icon_wink

--
    Jack B
    Hobie 17
    BC, Canada
    --
  • That's a lot of flex on the $6k budget

--
    Tim
    81 Hobie 16
    87 Nacra 5.7
    Austin, TX
    --