What are the best cats for very long distance racing?

Hi, I am preparing for a 900nm adventure race where there are no rules except the boat cannot be fitted with a motor. The first team to the line wins whether it is a rowing sled, kayak or sailboat. The race is mostly inter-coastal but will have some stretches of open ocean and although you are aloud to stop as much as you want or need, I would like to reduce the stops to a minimum. So, I reckon a beach cat would be very competitive! Although I have heaps of sailing and racing experience on ocean racing boats and skiffs, I have very little beach cat experience...

So here is my question; what are the best cats to look at purchasing?

Criteria
- crew and gear weight of ~450lbs
- Budget ~6k
- must be efficient upwind
- very good in light wind
- main must be able to be modified for a reef
- light enough to be rowed, possibly for days on end
- handle open ocean conditions

Also, if anybody knows of boats for sale in the pacific NW or British Columbia let me know.

--
Phil W
Nacra 570
Victoria BC
www.mausails.com
--
tumbolo there are no rules except the boat cannot be fitted with a motor.

Then it is AC72 icon_biggrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjERHJUTLh4

If you flexible on your criteria, that is icon_wink

--
Jack B
Hobie 17
BC, Canada
--
That's a lot of flex on the $6k budget

--
Tim
81 Hobie 16
87 Nacra 5.7
Austin, TX
--