Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Tramp Tightening?  Bottom

• I have a new Sunrise bias cut Tramp to install on my 2004 Nacra 570 and I've never done one before. If anyone has any suggestions for tools or technigues to use to get it tight and laced up please pass along. It has the rod slot along the aft of the tramp that laces to the rear beam.

--
    Steve - Texas Gulf Coast

91 Mystere 5.0 (sold)
    04 Nacra 570 (sold)
    08 Hobie Wave
    00 Taipan 4.9
    --
  • get some thin amsteel / dyneema / vectran or whatever 'cause the thin stuff is pretty cheap and has near zero strech (minimal) with a 1400lb breaking strength... because it's such small diameter you can REALLY get it snug around the radius turns in the grommets.

tie a bowline or something to the first hole in the tramp..
    get some vicegrips and rubber cement some rubber or nonabrasive on the jaws
    put your trap harness on
    lace 1 or 2 holes, wrap the excess line on your trap harness hook and LEAN out...
    have a buddy clamp the line in the vice grips...
    release tension, lace 1 or 2 more holes, repeat...

sucker WILL be tight. icon_smile

but don't go nuts, watch that you're not pulling grommets out, or the tramp from the bolt rope, feed, whatever-u-call-it

Edited by robpatt on Apr 22, 2013 - 02:10 PM.
  • Tie an overhand knot in the middle of your lacing line. Thread the line up though the centermost grommet on either the tramp or lace strip side, so that the knot is underneath the grommet. Now continue lacing that side to the end using Rob's technique:

robpattget some vicegrips and rubber cement some rubber or nonabrasive on the jaws
    put your trap harness on

Now repeat on the other side. I ended up tightening both sides a second time due to the bias cut, but they have since held tight for two seasons.

Edited by klozhald on Apr 22, 2013 - 02:19 PM.

--
    Sheet In!
    Bob
    _/)_____/)_/)____/)____/)_____/)/)__________/)__