Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Center board split in half, repair options?  Bottom

• Hi, my center board simply splited in half today. But not completly, it's still in one piece. But I can easily seperate the two pieces easily.... Should I just put some sort of epoxy in there and let it stick back together or is there a better option?

I was actually thinking of just putting epoxy in the middle and then some kind filler to plug up the cavity's created. But I don't know. I am new at this.

--
    Proud owner of a Mystère 6.0
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    --
  • That cavity probably doesn't have room for any filler unless you clean it out. You don't want to add too much thickened epoxy as you can make the board too wide for the slot pretty easily (says someone that's never seen a mystere..)

--
    Rob
    OKC
    Pile of Nacra parts..
    --
  • I have a mystere rudder that has done the same thing. the "glue" (and craftsmanship) used during production in the 90's was less than optimal.

I have also seen several demo/concept/home-produced rudders fail in this same way (we have had at least 3 attempts at creating plugs & molds recently that all failed this way)

I am not certain of the correct answer to this (i imagine it's some west system epoxy or similar).. but i would think there needs to be some type of biscuit or peg that marries the 2 sides in a bond with some "re-barb" in it (for lack of better term)
  • Quoteou can make the board too wide for the slot pretty easily (says someone that's never seen a mystere..)

There is tons of room in the board-wells on mystere 5.5 & 6.0s.

(IMHO) the real issue with modifying the centerboards width, lenght, thickness, edges, etc ... is it will no longer be correctly fared (hydrodynamic), will have different handling (compared to both before modification, and to the other board in the water), and it will not be as fast
  • MN3