Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

To buy a Hobie 21SC....that is the question  Bottom

• Not a complete novice to cat sailing, and have been looking for a bigger cat for some time and have come across what could be a deal.

2002 hobie 21 SC.

The good: 1 owner, never trailered (see the bad below), on moring with mast down most of its life, hulls/rudders/boards in good shape, wing pockets good, main rigging appears in good order.

The bad: NO TRAILER, Needs sails (main torn, jib just nasty), needs tramps front and rear (wings ok), needs all ropes (rot). Damage to plastic strips on the comp-tip (are these replaceable?), damage to cast aluminum block that the mast ball is mounted to. O-rings for hatch covers need to be replaced. Does not have the cabin or cooler, does not have pole for stepping mast.

The story is a 65 year old man bought this and did limited sailing for a few years with it. In season it sits on a moring, in winter it is pulled up on a dock to sit.

I can get the cat in the hundreds range, Is it worth it to buy a trailer and rehab the boat, or just look for another that is already put together and ready to rock with a trailer? Finding parts for this cat seems to be a small issue.

Any Ideas or suggestions are welcome.

Thanks for any input in advance!
    Patrick

--
    -PG
    '95 Nacra 5.8NA , rule#2
    --
  • Patrick, is this the boat in Lake George? If so look again at the wing pockets. I looked at this quite a while ago and there are cracks in at least two pockets. That boat was on the dock mast up for years and the hulls were full of water. Also there was a pretty deep gouge on the port hull. If you can get it really cheap and
    this is the boat you are looking for then it might make a nice restoration project. Do you live somewhat
    local to this boat?

--
    Pete Knapp
    Schodack landing,NY
    Goodall Viper,AHPC Viper,Nacra I20
    --