Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Help with 5.5 Uni and spinnaker.  Bottom

• OK, I have a 97 5.5 UNI I picked up last year. I have been sailing Hobie 18s for about 20 years. I like the UNI, it is light fast and fun. The rudder system sucks out loud but that is a different post.

The boat came with a Hooter and it is not worth a crap off the wind, reaching yes it is fine, but off the wind, not so much. I race against an old friend with an I-17 Non R with a spinnaker, and he is kiling me in all the club races. I am never going to nationals or really sailing anywhere but my home lake so "class legal" is not a concern. The local club hits me the same for the hooter as a soft Spin. I just need to go deeper than the hooter will let me.

A long time ago I parted out a Hobie 18 and got a spinnaker with (Not and SX) it has a 20 ft luff a 19 ft leach and a 12 ft foot, it is similar in size to the other spins I have seen on boats this size.

I have a mid pole snuffer and bag already for cheap and a halyard for the hooter already.

So what I need to know is how long should I make the pole? The Hooter pole is way over built, a techno fiber with a built in truss system under it. it is 1.75 not 1.5 like I need for the snuffer. I have the spreader bar between the hulls already (no jib but I could, I have one from a 17 sport). I sail solo 99 percent of the time so the jib is not likely going to happen.

I also need to know if I need to use the halyard ring to help the mast rotate?

I have the Hooter sheets on the rear cross bar but I can move them to the shrouds. I will need to put the snuffing grommets in the spin and will do that when I rig it for the first time and get some accurate measurements. Any input on where to put them would be greatly appreciated.

Any input would be a lot of help, this is all new territory for me, but exciting. Thanks in advance, Ricardo.

--
    Lake Perry KS
    H-18
    N-5.5 UNI +spin
    --