Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Buying first cat this weekend, Nacra F18  Bottom

• I am buying a 2005 Nacra F18 this weekend, what areas of the boat should I inspect carefully? Are there any areas of that boat that are known for failure that I should pay particular attention to? I know the trampoline will need to be replaced, there is a hole the size of a dime, I am not sure where, this was factored into the price though. Other then that I am told it is in perfect condition. I'm relatively new to sailing, I have some experience on a 420 and thats about it, I'm not too concerned though, I learn quickly and one of my friends who will be my crew has a decent amount of experience, just not on a cat.

Thanks for the help, can't wait to join the club!
  • Welcome aboard! Good luck with that

--
    Nacra 6.0 NA
    Ogden Dunes, IN
    --
  • Try this....

http://www.sailingproshop.com/catamaran_guide.aspx

--
    Bert Scott
    Niceville, FL
    Nacra F18
    --
  • Holy... That is quite a first boat. It's a little like getting your drivers licence and buying a Lamborghini as your first car. Not impossible but the boat is so high performance you are bound to find it twitchy, overly responsive to small inputs on the controls. Would highly suggest sailing with an experienced cat sailor the first several times! And you will always need to have crew with you. The F18's are designed as 2 person boats and they mean it! There is too much to do for one person and you need the counter weight to keep it down in even medium air.

The good news is that that is the dream boat of half the guys on here. High performance, overpowered and fast as all hell. The newer Infusion type boats have slightly better hull shape and maybe a few more bells and whistles but unless you are an expert those mean little. They are still competative on a regional level.

--
    Dave Bonin
    1981 Nacra 5.2 "Lucile"
    1986 Nacra 5.7 "Belle"
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    --