Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

shroud back-up rig  Bottom

• I am new to cat sailing and I had my first dis-masting today. I thought my windward shroud cable snapped, but after getting on dry land and inspecting the boat, it appears that the cable slipped out of the marine eye (the fitting that the cable is crimped into and pinned into the chainplate). First off, I can't believe that cables capable of handling such loads are secured by a crimper. Secondly, I have heard tales of cat sailors who rig a backup for their shroud that would have prevented the mishap that cut my day short. Is there anyone out there that can feed me any information on either of these topics?

--
    Barry Jones
    1982 NACRA 5.8
    Space Coast, Florida
    --
  • Sounds like someone didn't make up your shrouds correctly. Nicopress swages when done properly fuse with the wire. The wires gets embedded so well into the metal that they become one, and they are much stronger than the wire itself. It is a serious operation that requires a special crimping tool or hydraulic press but. That being said most people who make thier own rigging double swage thier standing rigging (use 2 crimps instead of 1).

Profesionally made rigging almost universally uses hydrualically swaged fittings which are even stronger than the normal swages and much cleaner. If you had nicopress fittings on the bottom of your shrouds chances are it was a poorly made homemade shroud by someone who didn't know how to do it or it is 30+ years old. That is a wakeup call for you to replace your all your wire rigging with brand new just for safety if nothing else.

--
    Dave Bonin
    1981 Nacra 5.2 "Lucile"
    1986 Nacra 5.7 "Belle"
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    --
  • The marine eye is a hydraulically swaged fitting, stronger than nico press/thimble. The rigger I use said they are done in a 20,000lb press.