Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Florida lakes & gators!!  Bottom

• I guess this would be a post geared towards Florida or SE sailors but was wondering how safe you think it is in Florida lakes to sail in? Im new to sailing and my thinking is I would like to learn in a lake but I would rather swim with sharks than gators if capsizing. Tell me your thoughts on which you think is safer for me to learn lakes with gators or the ocean?
  • You will be fine in either. I have grown up swimming with Gators around my whole life and have never been bothered by them. That being said I could go out tomorrow and be eaten bu it not very likely.
  • i live in the tampa area and i wont sail in any lakes down here.

to date i have never heard of anyone having a shark jump in their boat but my buddy did land a 5' black tip 1 mile of the dunedin causeway last week (at caladisi pass)

i would suggest you try the beach and do not slather yourself with seal juice and avoid capsizing at dusk (sharks feeding time) and away from marina's where fish guts are thrown and attract bait fish. we did have a tiger shark kill a dolphin at the seminal boat ramp last year
  • av8er you have bigger balls than me! MN3 yea ive caught a couple sharks from the beach myself but it doesnt bother me to know that im probably not far from swimming with them. I've actually seen a baby balacktip swim by me down at passe grill. You dont see the netted swimming areas at the beach like you do in lakes down here haha. I went down to dunedin one holiday not to long ago to check it out but it was the worse sailing day ever. no wind at all. lots of boats only a couple on the water. Do they let you store your boat there? seemed like alot just sitting there with no people around really. also is there any other good launching areas around? Im in brandon area