Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Practicing righting  Bottom

• OK- so I have only sailed the cat once, and have not dumped it yet. I hear one should "practice" righting the boat. What the heck does that mean? How do you do that? To me, it seems like practicing pulling a knife out of your stomach- only one way to figure it out. Is it a simple matter of capsizing the boat near shore? In my redneck part of the world (north GA), I would probably have a dozen bass fishers come by to offer assistance. I'd like to practice at night in my back yard, but the wind swirls a bit too much back there.

--
    Eric C

Force 5 project boat
    Unnamed

Previous boat
    1980 Nacra 5.2
    "Double Vision"
    --
  • I'm with you HR. The only time I've ever been over is in the surf, and then you get to watch the waves rip the sails, break the rudders, stuff the mast into the sand, ect ect. I've been sailing for 17 years now, and have NEVER been over...if the windward hull gets too high, you LET OUT SOME MAINSHEET. Problem solved. I do think I should practice in the event of a sudden weird gust or something, but I've never had the chance. Maybe you could get a bud in a bass boat to hang out there with you while you give it a shot--at least that way you wouldn't be the object of a search and rescue mission.

--
    Repairable P18
    --
  • try doing it without the sails