Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Thoughs 2nd cat - 5.8, miricle 20, ??  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• I'm looking for my second cat. I have a H16 now but I am still new to sailing, first year. I would like some input from the veterans.
    I can find quite a few Miracle 20 Hobies and there is an old, 1982 5.8 in the area. These boats can be bought fairly cheap. Are thse boats a bear to handle? Should I spend more and pick up a Tiger or is it just too much to learn with?
    I'm 220# and generally sail off the beach. Mostly recreational but I always like more speed.
    Thanks for your thoughts
  • What beach? there is a big difference between gulf and open ocean sailing (but both can turn bad quickly)

This is a big leap in power and I am generally slightly conservative with suggesting big powerful cats to "newer" sailors but those boats could work if you feel you can handle them safely and take extra precautions (ALWAYS wear your pdf, sailing with other boats, having crew to help right the boat, furling jib to depower, vhf, flaires etc) as it is pretty easy to get overpowered in a gust.

• I had heard the H20 was an overpowered boat and that it could really use a wider beam to make it more stable. Personally never sailed one but have a friend that went from a H20 to a H21SE for a more stable ride.

Do you typically sail solo at 220lbs? Do you sail where there are other boats around?

--
    Scott,
    ‘92 H18 w/SX wings
    ‘95 Hobie Funseeker 12 (Holder 12)
    ‘96/‘01/‘14 Hobie Waves
    --
  • Both those boats are a lot of boat. I'm partial to the 5.8 (of course). I've heard that the Hobie 20s are real bears to handle and right. The 5.8 is a little smaller and a little less hairy. If you are an experienced H16 sailor neither of those boats should be a problem for you.