Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Any advice on a new cat?  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• HI, My name is Isaac and im 14. I have been sailing and windsurfing for about 2+ years now and I am looking to buy a catamaran. Its a long story but I started out with a hobie 14 (when i was a beginer) then an situation came up to where i basicly traded that for a catalina 22 sailboat. I am the only sailor in my family and I could sail the catalina basicly by myself. It was an incredible boat but then my dad was diagnosed with huntingtons disease and he can no longer balance properly and, well, the boat was to much for him. I sold it and im looking for a cat that i could sail solo but also take a passenger or two. Ive sailed both a hobie 16 and a prindle 16 by myself and i could get them both upon one pontoon. I was wondering which was a better buy. Ive been looking on craigslist and stuff and was wondering if anyone has any advise. I basicly came upon the money from when i sold the catalina and i would like to put it tword a catamaran for my family. I live in Merrit Island area in Florida and i sail in the banana and indian river. Any advise?
  • hi Isaac,
    generally the prindle gets the nod ahead of the h16

but as you have already owned a h14 probably the h16 would be the better choice for you

there are far more of them around and they are still being made so you should have a good choice

they are much harder to right than a h14 when you do go over so be conservative when solo and get some sort of righting system
  • Isaac,

Sounds like you've got a great start on catamaran sailing experience. It's hard to go wrong with a Hobie 16 in your case, it is a bigger stronger hobie 14 so all you have to learn is rigging the jib. Nothing wrong with a Prindle 16, just not as many to play with.

If you will be sailing solo most of the time, keep on the lookout for a Hobie 17. Nice performance and designed as a single hander.