Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Compare and Constrast Beach Cat Designs  Bottom

• Hello all,
    I apologize for what seems like a pretty open ended question, but I'm new to beach cat's (not necessarily to sailing) but I was wondering if anybody out there would mind doing a quick compare & contrast on different beach cat designs or manufacturers. (I'm sure somebodys got a favorite out there!)

First let me give you a little bit about why I am asking and what I am hoping to really learn... So I started sailing three years ago, first on a dinghy, then I bought a 21' swing keel boat, sailed it for leisure, and since then I've raced on a Laser 28' for a summer, and this year I've been racing my own 21' Venture. Recently at the regattas, the 28 Laser and I have been trading back and forth for the winning position, and I've been pretty excited about that! Anyways, I'm moving in one month from the shores of lake superior to the "treasure coast" of Florida. My plan right now is to to sell my Venture 21 before I leave, and pick up a catamaran somewhere between the upper peninsula of Michigan and Fort Pierce Florida (2000 mile trip).

I'm moving to S. Hutchenson island in Fort Pierce FL and will be 2 blocks from two different beaches. Beach #1 will be on the Atlantic, and its a pretty steep sloping beach, I'm a little worried about launching and retrieval. Beach #2 will be on an inner coastal waterway, it looks like very easy launching & generally consistent sailing conditions.

Obviously I'm hoping to learn all about how to pick out the right boat for my needs. I'm looking to spend around $1500, I think thats a good price range, but we're obviously not talking about something new to the market here either.