Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Prindle 16 jib  Bottom

• Hello, this is my first year owning a catamaran and i have fallen in love. I have taken my cat out about 10 times in all wind conditions and feel confident in what i am doing.

the last time i took the boat out was in winds at about 20MPH with gust around 30 MPH. It was awesome until the jib riped off. The jib zipper is now distroyed. Well when i got home i was telling a friend of mine how much fun i had sailing and the story about the jib he said that i should not fly the jib in heavy winds(he sails a Lazer).

Well i have been looking around for a set of newer used sails or just a jib. My questions are,

Will a set of hobie 16 sails work on a Prindle 16?

And should i take my jib down in higher winds? (I know that i am new to the world of sailing but wouldn't that make it way harder to tack?)

Thanks for any help!

Keith Kinlaw
  • No a Hobie 16 jib will not work. First it is larger along the luff, second it does not have a zipper luff like the Prindle 16 it has a wire and rope halyard that requires tensioning, third it is a full battened jib where the Prindle 16 has 3 small battens on the leach approx 12-14 inches long. You can have a new zipper put on from a local sailmaker approx cost $90-$120. If you decide in the future that you really are looking for another set of sails, I have them at a real fair price, but I would not break up the set and sell the jib alone.
  • depending on mast position and sail design many jib equipped cats depower for solo sailing when the winds are up by removing the jib. the hobie16 apparently is not too happy without a jib but most nacras are. just remember to release the traveller or lots and lots of mainsheet in tacks to prevent going in to irons

edited by: erice, May 29, 2009 - 01:29 AM