Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Moving up to an 18  Bottom

• I am a member of the Hobie fleet in Memphis, TN. I have been sailing a 16 for several years now. I have an opportunity to move up to an 18 with wings... How much more is involved with sailing one of these. Can it be set up by one person? I have been out on Damon's boat once, but I was under his "wing" and did not help set it up...
  • Hey streetdoc432,

My unbiased opinion is that you will love a Hobie 18 with wings!

There a few differences I can think of on setup. On the 18 you'll have these additional items .vs the 16:

• Mast is heavier, but not too heavy for you to raise.
    • Daggerboards, just take a minute to attach
    • Zipppered roller jib, means you attach a temporary jib halyard extension while raising the jib.
    • With wings you may not need the trap lines, saving that setup.
    • Unfolding the wings and attaching the pins takes a few minutes, unless you go with toggle pin$.

That's all I can think of, most things are the same, like the rudder system, lacing a tramp, raising the main. The whole boat is quite a bit heavier than your 16, so a good set of Cat Trax will make life easier. But when keeping the boat mast-up on the trailer at Delta Sailing Association you don't have to worry about that.

--
    Damon Linkous
    1992 Hobie 18
    Memphis, TN

How To Create Your Signature

How To Create Your Own Cool Avatar

How To Display Pictures In The Forums.
    --