Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

X2 or SuperR as an H14 uni-rig?  Bottom

• I am a beachcats newbie. I am looking for new sails for my H14 turbo. I would like to simplify things and go to a uni-rig. How would one of the Whirlwind X2 or SuperR sails as a uni rig compare in performance with the classic turbo rig (classic mainsail and jib)?

Many thanks.
  • I cannot speak for the Hobie 14 - but the superR
    made a great difference in how our nacra 5.5sl
    perfomed - Whirlwind makes a great sail
    and they sure look good. I found this picture on the hobie forums.

http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o71/ghhm43/anotherchipsail.jpg

--
    Gordon
    Nacra 5.5SL
    --
  • Thanks Gordon - great picture. That sail sure is pretty.
    Roger
  • Chip is a great sailmaker (Whirlwind)
    i am sure any sail he makes will work great

BUT!!!! i wouldn't get rid of the jib... it will add to the boat handling, and performance... and is worth the extra setup
  • check out my sails from Chip for my 14: http://www.thebeachcats.com/index.php?module=pictures&g2_itemId=17781

I found that in big wind, sailing uni, the main was awesome! The top opened up and I could depower it. However, in light wind, I had trouble with people with regular Dacron sails. It was probably because I couldn't tune it in the light stuff, but in general, it made the boat a lot more fun. definitely kepe the jib. It may be small, but it does add some to the boat. Chip makes a great jib, too.

The Hooter was a HUGE difference on the boat, But you sail that without the jib. I'm selling the Hooter kit if you want to go that way.
  • Thanks for the comments Dan and Andrew - it seems that the advice is that dropping the jib is not a good idea.
    Roger
  • the jib is critical for cats. The boat will tack much better with one. Also it is really an asset for powering up the main.