Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Mast Cradle - Source?  Bottom

• I'm looking for a place to purchase a mast cradle for my Prindle 18. I've checked Murray's but it appears that they only stock it for Hobie. Does anyone know of a source to buy this part? Thanks in advance.
  • i know this wasn't your question but i have made a perfect cradle that sits on my bast base for $10.00

i use a 3" PVC T (Or Y) and cut out a rectangle slot on the top of it with a dremil tool... and put a black plastic v Bow Stop in it

http://img.alibaba.com/photo/11467813/Y_Style_Bow_Stop_Bow_Rollers_Spool_Keel_RollersV_Keel_Roll.summ.jpg

I can take a pic of it if you want... let me know
  • andrewscottI can take a pic of it if you want... let me know

Andrew, please do, I've been using a folded up towel for several years. icon_lol

--
    Damon Linkous
    1992 Hobie 18
    Memphis, TN

How To Create Your Signature

How To Create Your Own Cool Avatar

How To Display Pictures In The Forums.
    --
  • ok... here it is....

http://www.metalfree.com/a/cat/mast-cradle.jpg

One note about the PVC pipe... if you look at the lower left image you can see it there is a slight angle the base part of the pipe. this seemed critical for my setup.. i have also tried to extend the base by a few inches to get the mast higher (not scratching my spin pole/bag) but i could not get that to work, even with angle cuts etc...

edited by: andrewscott, Jan 21, 2009 - 09:48 AM
  • The one for the Hobie 14/16 will work on a Prindle. It isn't an exact fit, but it is clese enough. I use mine on any boat. It is the white fiberglass one that has the V in the middle and two pegs sticking out.

This one:
    http://www.murrays.com/mm…e=07-3175&Category_Code=

The mast caddies come up on eBay every now and then. You can get one for a Hobie and cut out the notch a little more to fit the Prindle traveler.
  • Thanks. Great idea. I really appreciate the photos, as well. I'm headed to Home Depot!