Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Hobie 18 Rudder disaster need advice and parts  Bottom

• Hobie 18
    My Hobie 18 1981 was pushed backward by a strong wind into a fence.
    The collision tore out the fiberglass the back left transom, it is hanging on, but barely.
    On the right side, the top of the lower casting, right hand side, where a pin goes through the cast metal is broken.
    I am just learning how to sail (and park) this thing, and for a while it will be easy small lake sailing for a while..
    I am attaching photos.
    (1) How difficult and involved is the fiberglass repair? I won?t do it myself. I think.
    (2) Can the broken piece be welded or JB repaired?
    I am thinking my choices are to replace the one lower casting, maybe both with used parts (pre 1987?)
    -0r-
    Replace the entire assembly with the upgraded retrofitted setup, again, used.
    Does anybody have any of this for sale?
    Suggestions?

Thanks,

A.
  • Hi MrKurtz, i am not going to ask how your boat was pushed backwards into a fence but how your boat was pushed backwards into a fence? just kidding.... perhaps something to do with the "learning how to park"?

I had a h18 and broke my lower castings (a wave slammed me into the shore).

i purchased the casting upgrade at that time. It was a nice upgrade because my rudders did not kick up with the old system and was a disaster waiting to happen.

It wa expensive (more than the boat cost me) and took my repair guy (who had worked on boats for 40 years) many hours to do (like 10).

You can weld aluminum parts but this does weaken it. I am sure you could get many years out of the welded aluminum, so not really a consideration.