Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Replacing Cat Trax Tires  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• I’ve got a set of Cat Trax that are 25 years old. They’re in decent shape but the tires no longer hold air.

Does anyone have experience with changing the tires themselves? I basically just have screwdrivers and prybars to work with, but I would prefer not to take the wheels to a shop if it can be avoided. Also, checking Murrays’ website, replacement tires are $100 vs. $30 for tubes, so I would probably go the tube route. Anyone have experience with using/installing innertubes?

sm
  • I have lots of experience changing motorcycle tires and tubes. You need a couple tire irons like the ones at Harbor Freight:
    https://www.harborfreight…ml?_br_psugg_q=tire+iron

If you are putting tubes in you just need to pop one bead off. Put talcum powder on the tube so it will slide on the tire. Put the tube in, inflate & deflate it a couple of times to get the wrinkles out. Put the bead back on and inflate/deflate a couple more times. Lube the bead with soapy water or actual bead lube. Then fill it up to seat the bead and you are set.

I also have a tool that breaks the bead. I don't know how tightly these beach tires hold onto the bead.

--
    Bryan in Poplar Grove, IL
    Supercat 17, unknown year. Future project
    Hobie 16, 1977 - died a spectacular death https://youtu.be/Y7O22bp2MVA
    Hobie 16, 1978 - current boat
    --