Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Buying a 1995 Nacra 450 - upgrades for solo sailing  Bottom

• Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum and apologize in advance if my inquiries have already been covered in the past (in my defense I did search the forum before hand icon_smile )

I am buying a 1995 Nacra 450, I am new to Catamaran sailing and would like to make some improvements and upgrades during this winter for solo sailing

What would be the best upgrades on the cheap to implement ? I am thinking :
    - furling Jib (https://www.ronstan.com/m…/product.asp?ProdNo=RF76)
    - DIY Spipole and additional furling sail (should I go with a spi / Code zero / reecher ?)
    - DIY Wings

What do you guys think ? Do you think there are other upgrades that makes more sense ? Are these three worth it ? Thanks in advance for your comments

Regards,
  • For this size of boat it doesn’t seem that you should need wings or furling jib to sail it solo. Do you have beach wheels? That’s more on the basics side.
  • Thanks for the feedback, the furling jib is for pure lazyness, It will stay furled so that I can be faster on the water.
    There is a boat launching ramp so that I can use a standard trolley, I won't need beach wheels
  • Make sure to re-evaluate at some point about the wheels. If you will be sailing multiple days it’s much simpler than the trailer, you can do all yourself without having to get the car and drive it all wet. I personally prefer to take the boat from the trailer into the beach wheels and from there to the water. I can do all that alone, with a heavier boat (N5.5)
  • If you have to make all those adustments/upgrades, maybe it is not the right boat. I am a proponent of a value buy rather than a price buy. Also, the less you have to do, the sooner you can go sailing.

--
    dk

Blade F-16
    Hobie 14
    Corsair F-242
    Mirage 25 (Sold)
    Hobie Tiger (Sold)
    Hobie Tiger (Sold)
    TomCat 6.2 (Sold)
    --