Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Researching First Boat  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• So, as the title says, I'm in the research stage of getting my first sailboat. It's been long enough since I sailed on a sunfish as a kid that I'd consider myself a complete newbie when it comes to sailing. A family friend had a catamaran and I was able to go out on it with him a few times as a kid, and since then have always wanted one. The boat at the top of the list right now is the Hobie Wave. I like the size/simplicity of it being new to sailing, and I like that if I wanted to try to eke out a bit more performance, I could add the jib kit. After reading though, my concern is the weight capacity. I'm on the heavier end for sure at 245 lbs, and want to make sure that the boat can handle it decently well. Most of the time I'd assume it will just be me, but on occasion it might be fun to take someone else along. With multiple people I doubt it would get to the point of flying a hull, but you never know. Can the Hobie Wave handle that much weight though? The Hobie website says 800 lbs or something, but other people claim way less than 200 is the max for it to have any sort of performance to it. If it can't handle the weight would it be accurate to say that I'd need to step up to a 16 foot boat, as others (topaz 14, rs cat 14, etc.) will all have the same issue? I'm in Kansas, so no ocean sailing for me, but should have plenty of wind.

Thanks for your help

--
    No boat... yet
    --
  • First, welcome from a former owner of an LX 5.0! Most of the time, I don’t have enough experience to offer suggestions, but about 2 years ago, I was you. I would pick a boat that is easy to rig and easy to sail. I’d recommend staying away from anything with daggerboards.