Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Fat guy in a little boat  Bottom

• Hello All,

This is my first post on this forum and I am in search of some advice! I am a 37yo father of two young girls 6 and 3. I have very little sailing experience, about 3 weeks a year at camp on a sunfish. Absolutely loved that thing, but it has been 30 years. I am selling my whaler and thinking of getting a Hobie or something similar. I weigh 240, my wife is 6' tall and not going to reveal her weight because she would shoot me if she found out. We are not small people. My daughters are 90 lbs collectively. Total crew weight would be 520-530 lbs.

We will be using this boat in the chesepeak bay, York, James, and rappahanock rivers around central VA and then dragging it down to the Carolinas and possibly Florida.

Can the professionals in the group recommend a solid starter beach cat for my family? I don't want a race boat, yet, looks like fun, but certainly am not ready! Little help would be awesome! Also if you know any for sale? Not afraid of a larger heavier boat, just do not want it to be too heavy for two capable adults to drag down the beach!

Thanks,

Mark
  • Hobie Getaway comes to mind
  • I concur.

--
    Greenville SC

Offering sails and other go fast parts for A-class catamarans
    --
  • Don't have the experience/expertise level of others on this board, but was thinking Hobie Getaway seems about perfect before seeing two guys above voted the same.

--
    1998 P18.2
    Sailing out of SHBCC, NJ
    --
  • I will add that to my list of possibilities! Should I rule out the 21 Sport Cruiser? Kinda digging the head room and the wings.
  • Wings on the Getaway is like a magic carpet ride for kids and kids at heart. Hulls can take abuse and carry increased load. Basically a sound beginner boat that it easy peasy to sail.

--
    Todd

Virginia
    --