Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

RIP Bill Roberts  Bottom

• I am just passing the word to the catamaran world. We lost a great one, Bill Roberts, the main force behind the Super Cats, ARC's and RC catamarans etc. Bill passed away last Saturday in his sleep.

We are planning to sail in his memory at this Year's Mug Race. We will have a small celebration of his life where all can come a share sailing stories by those that knew and sailed with and against him.

I can tell you I was not always a Bill Roberts fan. I had been racing against Bill for about 10 years, unsuccessfully on my Prindle 19. He always beat us both literally and on corrected time. I always assumed it was his boats, and discounted him having any sailing ability. After about 15 years of losing, we threw in the towel and said if we can't beat him then we will join him. My buddy and I went in together on an RC27, that was about 2003. We were going to show everyone is was the boat, not the sailor. Of course we could not have been more wrong. First, we found out how much we did not know about sailing big cats. Second we learned Bill never stopped trying to get faster and better and have his boats be the best. While we improved we never really gained much ground on Bill. While we could, on the rare occasion, beat him, is was always a fight to the last second and he usually won.

It took me a while to understand him. Basically it took a while for me to learn enough to get what he was talking about. He did not suffer with fools easily. So it was a rocky start. However, he always wanted us to do well and would help us with any area of question. He would be frustrated by us for taking so long to learn. Looking back on it, I have to laugh at how much we made him suffer. As the years went by he would always call me every couple of months to check in on how I was doing fixing this or that on the boat.