Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Advise on pricing a Prindle 18-2  Bottom

• I have been hunting for a cat for a few months now and finally found the person who seems to have abandoned an 18-2 at my club. I asked about it and apparently it was her late husbands joy. He bought it from a fella who won Worlds on it (not sure what year). Before he passed he bought a new square top main for it. She said she planned on buying new lines for it and sailing it. I asked about buying it and she said "make an offer".

So whats the going rate for a Prindle 18-2 with trailer, fiberglass sail box, possibly two mains, and pneumatic cat trax? It will need cleanup but I am pretty sure it is in good shape. She mentioned the sail box is full of stuff.

--
    FYC, Nacra 5.2 "Chris's Flyer" & Nacra Playcat
    Previously owned: Trac 14, H14, H16, H18, N5.0, G-cat 5.0
    --
  • I would say the current range for classic beachcats is about $1200 - $2500 depending on condition and gear

sail box is a great add on
    cat trax too

these items have value but don't significantly add to the value of the overall package
    i.e. this boat can sell for the same amount with or without those items

2 mains is great, but means nothing if the old one is spent

If the boat is sound i would start the offer around 1500 but we willing to go higher
  • If all it needs is a scrub, it would be worth $3k easily over here. A clean trailer, new sails, goodies and wheels would seal the deal.

If it also had beach storage with it, it would be quickly scooped up.

Between $2-3k sounds like a bargain. But only you can see the boat.

Good luck

--
    Prindle 18
    --