Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

How to rig the 4 way jib system on a NACRA 6.0 NA  Bottom

• Hi all, new to this great community. I recently purchased a 1996 NACRA 6.0 NA with no instructions. I found on line the older NACRA assembly manual but the resolution of the pics is too low to make any sense of them. Can anyone provide some guidance (pictures preferred) on how to rig the 4 way jib system for that boat?

Thanks in advance

--
    Self taught sailor, own a SOLCAT 18 and a NACRA 6.0 NA. From MI
    --
  • http://www.thebeachcats.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=76593&g2_serialNumber=4

some people use a bungee to "pull" the 2 jib blocks inboard (as seen in the image below)
    i find this completely useless as when you sheet the jib it will pull inward - just more gear to fail and get snagged on

https://static.shoplightspeed.com/shops/609908/files/003907539/h2004b1.jpg

Edited by MN3 on Apr 15, 2018 - 07:01 PM.
  • MN3, that is very helpful, thank you.....it now makes sense icon_smile but I agree, I don't see the advantage of such setup....if the blocks were mounted on the front cross-beam, they would achieve the same function with less clutter... Now that I think about it, the only advantage of this is that it will allow for a larger jib to be used.....

Edited by alaing on Apr 15, 2018 - 08:58 PM.

--
    --
  • if you have the right jib them the blocks on the front beam would't work. your origional jib overlaps the mast.
    i didn't like all the wires and blocks on the tramp and went to a self tacker.

--
    NACRA 6.0
    Chrysler Bucaneer 18 dinghy
    --
  • Quote I don't see the advantage of such setup....if the blocks were mounted on the front cross-beam, they would achieve the same function with less clutter... Now that I think about it, the only advantage of this is that it will allow for a larger jib to be used.....