Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Hi Guys! Complete and Utter Noob Here!  Bottom

• Hey everyone! I'm an eleven year old kid living on Long Island. I've been sailing with the junior sailing program near me for two years now, and I'm looking to buy my first boat. I was looking at monohull dinghies, like the Optis and 420s, but none of them offer the thrill I'm looking for, but beach catamarans do. I'm looking to buy a good, cheap secondhand NACRA 5.2 or Hobie 14. If you hae any advice or suggestions,
    please tell me. Thanks in advance! icon_smile
  • Saw you over on the Sailing Anarchy thread -- welcome to Beach Cats!

This is far for you, but gives you a good idea of what a mint-condition Hobie 14 looks like: https://fortwayne.craigslist.org/boa/d/2004-hobie-cat-hobie-cat-14/6493451171.html

Keep in mind what you see on Craigslist is not always what you get... Definitely ask for a seller to send pics and a video if possible before you travel too far (and talk to them by phone with an adult -- you can evaluate a lot by how how much someone is willing to disclose over the phone, vs. if they avoid answering on specifics). This boat for example is posted on Craigslist in 2 different cities in Indiana -- which is a bit suspicious but sometimes happens for legit reasons...

Closer to home, but may be missing sails, rigging & trailer: https://southjersey.craigslist.org/spo/d/hobie-14/6467418686.html

Other one, looks in mediocre condition and expensive for what it is. If it had nice sails, could be interesting however (a good hosing and scrubbing down can do miracles to a dingy looking boat): https://washingtondc.craigslist.org/nva/boa/d/14-hobie-catamaran/6514486443.html

No pics, but description sounds like a very reasonable boat: https://eastnc.craigslist.org/boa/d/hobie-cat/6470141688.html.

Be patient! There are many beach cats on sale, take the time to wait and find the right one for you and your location.

--
    SL