Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Prindle 18 to F16  Bottom

• I am considering upgrading from a 1985 Prindle 18 to 2012 F16. I self taught myself to sail on a P16 and P18. I don't race and live on a oval lake that is about 1.1 miles x .7 miles. I can solo handle my P18 in most wind and feel very confident. What challenges should i expect? What kind of difference can i expect? Will a lake that size be too small for an F16. Thanks in advance for any advise.
  • Mike,

Upwind the difference won't be too bad, though expect the F16 to be more nimble, point significantly higher with the boards, and tack much faster. All in all it is probably an easier boat to sail with the self tacking jib, though in much more than 10 kts of breeze you will start to be over powered with the jib and want to run with just the main.

The biggest change will be downwind, running the spinnaker solo is a good amount of work and you need time and space to douse.

I can tell you that in a breeze that lake is going to be challenging. The F16 can pretty easily average 18 kts downwind in 15 kts of breeze, and at that speed it will take you about 3 minutes to cross the lake.

The other factor to consider are the boards; the F16 draws ~3 ft with with the boards down, so if you have a lot of shallow areas in the lake, I suspect you will find them.
  • Thank you Sam. I already know some of the places that the rudders on P18 hit and with the dagger boards drawing more, the lake will become a bit smaller. My decision now is, buy some new sails for the P18 (invest in that boat) or go with a lighter more modern boat. Can I expect the sailing to be more fun on the F16 (aside from issues you note)?
  • Answering in reverse order, yes, most definitely the F16 will be more fun to sail. It has higher performance in all conditions, and it will be especially noticeable in light air.