Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Ballast??  Bottom

• I just picked up my first Catamaran and its an 85 AMF trac 16, the guy I got it from said that they sail with the hull plugs out so the hulls have some water in them for ballast, and the water runs out when you are under way, I have never heard of that but is that correct? I ask after reading about how water in hulls is frowned upon.

Edited by thunder1 on Nov 15, 2017 - 08:45 PM.
  • icon_confused icon_rolleyes icon_eek
    I get enough water in them with the damn things in
    Guess I'll have to try it , would save tipping it up on the beach & pulling them out to drain.......not

Edited by carl2 on Nov 15, 2017 - 10:50 PM.
  • Thanks for the response, I was finding it hard to believe leaving them out was good idea but also being a novice I wanted to be sure. I just couldn't picture trying to sail with hulls full of water.
  • Yeeeaahhh, I've never heard of anyone purposely leaving their drain plugs out so water could get in the hulls. Sounds like a bad idea to me.

--
    Marty
    1984 Hobie 16 Redline Yellow Nationals, "Yellow Fever"
    Opelika, Al / Lake Martin
    --
  • Any significant amount of water in hulls is a recipe for disaster.
    Firstly, lets ignore what hundreds of lbs of water does for your speed. If you had a ton of water in the upwind hull, it would certainly keep the boat from lifting a hull, & flipping. It would also allow you to pull so much power you could destroy the rig, shrouds torn out, mast folding etc.
    Secondly, think about what even 10 gallons of water in each hull will do when you do flip. The upper hull is over center, & that extra weight is now a couple, trying to drive the boat turtle. It will also be much harder to right the boat, as you have to overcome that extra moment with increased hiking out weight.