Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Prindle 18 vs 19  Bottom

Go to page [-1] 1 - 2:

• from the front of the dolphin striker to the center of the rear beam 92.5
  • carl2from the front of the dolphin striker to the center of the rear beam 92.5

Same measurement on an 18 is about 88.5".
    So 4" difference.

Thanks

--
    Hobie Getaway
    Prindle 18 - Sold
    South Padre Island, TX
    --
  • Hi everybody.
    I'm brand new to cat sailing and just bought a P18. My question does fall within this forum thread. Currently our sailing would be with two adults, 350lbs and a 11 year old. My question is about the future, way down the road. If one has three adults, say 500 lbs. Would moving to a 20foot cat be the way to go? I would think if you had four adults then definitely a 20foot. I plan on using the P18 for years but was reading this thread and it's very close to my future question, so what the heck I thought I'd post my question.
  • I'm in a similar situation. My plan, for now, is to eventually buy Hobie Getaway wings and modify them to fit my P18. That way there is plenty of room for 4 adults. Won't be fast, but that isn't important to me. Just want the company.

--
    Hobie Getaway
    Prindle 18 - Sold
    South Padre Island, TX
    --
  • Quote If one has three adults, say 500 lbs. Would moving to a 20foot cat be the way to go?

well you have lots more tramp area on a 8'5 wide beam than your prindle's 7.92' but not sure the tramp is gonna be much "longer"...

since these are 2 person boats ... without wings 3 adults is a cozy fit on any beach cat - even w/wings... you don't sail w crew on the wings without lots of air so it's still cozy at times (i.e launching, right after tacking etc)

and since wind and waves are variable there is no absolute answer

if you have med - heavy air you want (need) 2 on board (either boat), so 3 is do-able