Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Baby Bob  Bottom

• I'm curious if I need to purchase a Baby Bob for my Hobie 16. I am new at this so I'm thinking I may need one. But since I am new, I plan on sailing only in harbors and bays until I get more familiar and comfortable. Sailing in 8-10 MPH winds first. Do these Baby Bobs really help? Does anyone use one if experienced? I have not seen one on the water yet, only in videos. FYI- I have not flipped or pitch forked yet so when I do, I will be my first. This is why I'm asking. Thank you for your advice in advance!

Edited by trailertrashjohn on Nov 03, 2014 - 05:28 AM.
  • Hey John, good to see you are still asking questions. Most of us do not use the Bob's mainly because of the weight it adds to the mast, also because more weight = less speed... icon_biggrin

One of the first techniques a newbie needs to learn is how to right your boat solo and that is what you should do. Take your H16 out into a shallow area with light winds and practice by flipping the boat over and then "righting" your H16 by yourself, if possible have help standing by, either in a boat or on shore. The technique to righting your boat solo in winds 8-10 mph is as follows:-

1) Release both mainsheet and jibsheet

2) Point mast into wind

3) Climb on lower hull, grab righting line out of pocket on tramp, throw righting rope over upper hull.

4) Plant your feet firmly on lower hull as close to the hull bottom as you can get, hold line and lean out