Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Tips for shipping cross country?  Bottom

• I'm looking to get an A-class shipped from the bay area to Chicago. No trailer. Does anyone have any experience doing this, or have any contacts? I got a bid from a uShip shipper, but it would end up being almost half the cost!

The boat is not one that can be broken down (beams are bonded), so it can't be car-topped or put in a www.pods.com style container (easily).

Thanks,
    Dan
  • Hey Dan,

I'm far from an expert at this, but know we have used UShip to move F18's around the country before. Without a trailer, you'd typically need the boat broken down. Generally we ship with our own trailer, driver picks it up and drops it off where you want it. So my advice is to find a trailer in the bay area and buy it to get the boat to Chicago. Even doing that, it's going to cost you big bucks-$0.5 to $1/mile. That's the problem with buying boats from so far away :(
  • $2k would pretty much be the going rate unless you find a friend willing to deal with it for you. If your talking about the boat that I think you are, I ran into the same problem with it last year.

--
    Greenville SC

Offering sails and other go fast parts for A-class catamarans
    --
  • If you're committed to doing this, I would vote with buying a trailer out west and towing her home.
    You're talking just under 8-0 wide and less than 500 lbs. of towed vehicle weight.
    http://sailboatdata.com/v…record.asp?class_id=4294
    Then you have a trailer. Good luck.

--
    '82 Super Cat 15
    Hull #315
    Virginia
    Previously owned: '70 H14, '79 H16, '68 Sailmaster 26, '85 H14T
    --
  • thanks!
    I wish it was break-down-able. With a trailer, I'm sure I'd get more hits from uship.

Finding an appropriate trailer from another city will be tough, I suspect. I sent an email to Svendsen's Chandlery. I'll see what comes up.

Dan