Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Hobie guy looking at used Nacra  Bottom

• Hi all, I'm new to the forum and probably new to sailing compared to a lot of you. I've been sailing a Hobie 18 and 16 for the last 3 years almost every weekend spring and summer. So... I sailed with a friend last year who bought a brand new Nacra 570 sport. I fell in love, but I'm sure that it was mostly because it was brand new. It was so clean and quick to setup. So now I have found a used Nacra 5.8 that I would like to purchase (crazy I was actually looking for beach wheels and found an entirely different brand cat with no beach wheels lol). So I would like some feedback or opinions about early '90s Nacras and specifically the 5.8. Couple of questions to start... I noticed in some pictures that the forestay and jib are attached to a bar of some sort instead of just going straight to the hulls with cable. Why does it have the bar and why not all of them? Is there a particular item or items I should focus on as far as normal repairs and wear. Thank you all very much ahead of time.

Cody
  • Some have the bar simply to spread the load better and at a better angle.
    Can't comment about specific wear items, but like Hobie, NACRA is a good builder with long success record - can't go wrong with either brand... individual boats may be beat and tired, but on the whole, both are great brands....

If you already own the Hobie 16 adn Hobie 18, I'd say keep them, and focus on getting good and tuning and driving one or the other. They are different animals. If you don't have a boat, focus first on a solid boat, let the brand come secondary.

Hobie's strength are their consistency in model design. There's a quadrillion Hobie 16s and Hobie 18s everywhere... so lots of folks know how to sail them, lots of folks to learn and get help from, and lots and lots of affordable parts - a Hobie 18 from 2010 is the same as a Hobie 18 from 1978.