Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Hobie 16 Front trampoline - Is it possible?  Bottom

• Hi All,

I have limited experience modifying sailboats, but I can sail them okay. Lakes and the like. San Diego Bay is a favorite. I would like to add a front trampoline to a completely stock, pre-1985 Hobie 16 (not sure of exact year). Any ideas on who makes one, who can custom-fab one, or how I would buy a main tramp and butcher the sh** out of it to make it work up front?

Cole

--
    Cole
    DTLA
    '81 H16 Project to Catalina
    --
  • I dont think the 16 would have enough front hull volume to carry anyone around up there. It would be just constantly digging in. I wouldn't bother, I would instead buy a cat that already has this feature like a gcat, or the Hobie Getaway.

--
    Nacra 5.7
    Falcon Lake Manitoba
    Canada
    --
  • coleinthetubeI would like to add a front trampoline to a completely stock, pre-1985 Hobie 16

Don't put any effort into this.
    You will not be happy with the results on a H 16.
    The smallest wave/wake will swamp the front net and its contents, over and over again.
    Someone in the local fleet tried it years ago.
    Once.
    Save the idea for when you have a cat with more buoyancy up front.
    Quite a few folks here have tried in on Hobie 18, Prindles and Nacras.

--
    Sheet In!
    Bob
    _/)_____/)_/)____/)____/)_____/)/)__________/)__
    Prindle 18-2 #244 "Wakizashi"
    Prindle 16 #3690 "Pegasus" Sold (sigh)
    AZ Multihull Fleet 42 member
    (Way) Past Commodore of Prindle Fleet 14
    Arizona, USA
    --
  • coleinthetubeI would like to add a front trampoline to a completely stock, pre-1985 Hobie 16 (not sure of exact year).

Cole, Welcome to TheBeachcats.com!

Anything is possible, but like mryella mentioned the Hobie 16 is probably not the best candidate for a front tramp. Question though, why do you want one? To carry people or cargo?