Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

gcat 5meter  Bottom

• Hi,I am new at this so please look past my limited knowledge on sail boats.. I got the bug last year while visiting my son in ft myers fl. as we went playing around on a rental hobie 13 - 14 ft. I just purchased a 1986 gcat 5 meter cat last week. my brother and I took it out on a very small lake in middle georgia to check it out. The piont of this is one of the hulls on the top where you would step and sit looks to be giving in. how would I go about repairing this? This cat does not have inspection holes or hatches and I did not see any way to drain water that make its way into the hulls . anyone with knowledge of this cat would be greatly appreaciated.
    Thanks Tim M.
  • Welcome! I have not cut into my G-Cat yet, but I have a hunch that it is foam core. You will need to do the do an epoxy injection with micro bubble filler. There is a photo album of how to go about it. It should not be too bad. I use Raka Epoxy (w/ slow cure hardener). Call them, they are very helpful. It is cheaper than west systems.

I always tell my passengers not to stand in the center of the hulls. Instead walk on the edges.

--
    FYC, Nacra 5.2 "Chris's Flyer" & Nacra Playcat
    Previously owned: Trac 14, H14, H16, H18, N5.0, G-cat 5.0
    --
  • i suggest you use your knuckles and knock ALL around the cat and listen for internal bulkheads. take note of where they are on the port hull vs the stbd. if one hull has more than the other there is a good chance your bulkheads have failed and are the root of the soft spots. this should be addressed or hull failure is possible.

or if some bulkheads sound very different than other ones they may have separated internally.

Cutting into your cat to make these repairs is not a huge deal - just time and money