Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Florida Boat Registration???  Bottom

• I'm new to the state of Florida and need to know if I need to register my Hobie 16.

I've gotten conflicting reports and want to be legal.

When I went for license plates for my vehicles and trailer I was asked if I wanted to register the boat.
    Just under $100 for 15 months of registration.

I held off for now as I've not seen a single beach catamaran with hull registration numbers so far.

Do you have to register a sailboat?
    no motor, no paddle just the wind and a Hobie 16

thanks for the help

and if anyone knows anything about Vero Beach I'm looking for the low-down there as I'll be visiting in a month.
    posted this question earlier and didn't get much advise
  • From the states website:
    If the non-motor powered vessel is less than 16 feet in length, it is not required to be registered or titled. However, if the vessel is 16 feet or more in length, it is required to be registered and titled.
  • it is very simple. Yes and no, and in most cases it doesn't matter

the law is as stated above for registration

see the full state statutes for vessel registration here - http://www.leg.state.fl.u…28/Sections/0328.48.html

The same basic rules apply for the title
    see here - http://www.leg.state.fl.u…28/Sections/0328.03.html

Now the fact is your hobie 16 is longer than 16'
    it is 16' 7" as noted on the hobie website - http://www.hobiecat.com/sailboats/hobie-16/

It could be argued either way, you boat is classified as a 16footer, but technically is longer. You could get ticketed and lose in court.

I have lived on the west coast of fl for 20 years, sailed about 15 of em ... and have never seen a ticket written for lack of registration on any beach cat (regardless of size).. but it could happen, it could change.