Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Prindle 16 rudders stuck down  Bottom

• I picked up a 1980, new to me Prindle 16. The seller removed the rudders and rudder castings as a whole unit before I had the boat shipped. I intalled the rudder units along with the tiller. Rudder system works great but I cant seem to unlock the rudders from the down position. Any help please. I am new to beach cats but grew up sailing a Catalina 25. I was going to dive into the problem today but was hoping for some direction first. I searched the topic but really couldn't find info on my specific issue

Jared

--
    Jared - Seattle,WA
    1980 Prindle 16
    --
  • check your private messages
  • Mount the rudders onto the transom, have someone sit on the tramp and pull on the "up" line, that will lift the locking pin, same time you grab the rudder and pull, the lock bolt has been adjusted too far in, causing the rudders to lock in the down position. This method will work only if your rudder lines have been reaved correctly, check the above link for feeding the rudder lines.
  • Pull the down line and hold tension on it, before pulling the up line. This will compress the spring a bit more than pulling the up line alone, and allow the rudder to unlock more easily. You may have to mount them back on the transom first, as stated above.

--
    Rob
    OKC
    Pile of Nacra parts..
    --
  • jchristI picked up a 1980, new to me Prindle 16.
    Jared

Welcome to TheBeachcats.com Jared, and welcome to the-renovator as well, thanks for participating right away. See my signature for instructions on setting up your cool avatar and signature.

--
    Damon Linkous
    1992 Hobie 18
    Memphis, TN

How To Create Your Signature

How To Create Your Own Cool Avatar

How To Display Pictures In The Forums.
    --
  • Thanks to Renovator for the phone call and help. I appreciate all the info and help with my problem.