Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Just Bought An 84' P16! Looking for input.  Bottom

• Hello, I picked up a P16 with a trailer for $800. The seller of the boat did fiberglass work on sailboats out of his house, he said the bottoms were pretty worn so he redid them, after that at some point the hull was dented in two spots. He didn't know the two spots were there so he attempted to patch them up but there was too much moisture. Anyways he instructed me to fill the sanded out dents with layers of glass and resin with a final nylon mesh material layer.(does this sound right?) So I did as he instructed and repaired the two spots and they look pretty good to me, but I have zero fiberglass experience...
    I have begun prepping the rest of the hulls for paint by sanding with 100grit sandpaper, I have noticed there are quite a few little surface cracks in the paint(or gelcoat?).

How do I fill these little cracks, and with what do I fill them with? (should I just fill them with some resin?).

One of the two spots I patched sticks out a bit, about the thickness of the final mesh layer with some resin over it. So how do I blend these to spots into the hulls? I wouldn't think you can sand too much resin of because of the nylon mesh material...?

I stopped at west marine the other day and had no idea what paint to buy. What is a good affordable paint/method?

Any Input is very much appreciated!

In the mean time I am going to do some research and get some pics up.